If you are accused of a misdemeanor in North Carolina, chances are you are frightened.
Putting your case in the competent hands of the criminal defense attorneys at Schlosser & Pritchett can help relieve some of the pressure. We are well-acquainted with the local legal system, and are committed to vigorously representing the injured and the accused. Our North Carolina misdemeanor clients are from all walks of life, including juveniles, adults and college students. Many of our clients are from local colleges and universities, including North Carolina State, Duke, and UNC Chapel Hill.
Differences Between North Carolina Felonies & Misdemeanors
The difference between North Carolina misdemeanor laws versus felony laws can make a large difference in the ultimate result of your defense against these charges. The consequences between these two can be vast in terms of penalties or sanctions if you are convicted.
Most felonies carry more severe penalties than misdemeanors, with the penalties including more substantial fines, longer sentences and more severe repercussions after your release.
Types of North Carolina Misdemeanors
Potential Consequences of North Carolina Misdemeanors
Misdemeanors are divided into four different categories (A1, 1, 2, and 3), depending on the seriousness of the offense.
A Class 3 misdemeanor, the least serious type of misdemeanor, carries a maximum penalty of twenty days in jail and a $200 fine. Class 3 misdemeanors include simple possession of marijuana, concealing goods in a store, and city code violations.
A Class 2 misdemeanor carries a maximum penalty of sixty days in jail and a $1,000 fine. Class 2 misdemeanors include simple assault, disorderly conduct, resisting a police officer, and carrying a concealed weapon.
A Class 1 misdemeanor carries a maximum penalty of 120 days in jail and a discretionary fine. Class 1 misdemeanors include possession of drug paraphernalia, larceny, possession of stolen goods, damaging real or personal property, communicating threats, and prostitution.
A Class A1 misdemeanor, the most serious type of misdemeanor, carries a maximum penalty of 150 days in jail and a discretionary fine. Class A1 misdemeanors include assault with a deadly weapon, assault inflicting serious injury, assault on a female or a government employee, violation of a restraining order, and sexual battery.
Additionally, you may be put on probation during which you may be required to submit to searches or drug screens. There are two types of probation – supervised and unsupervised. Unsupervised probation requires only that you pay the costs of court and fines and that you abide by the law. Supervised probation requires that you meet regularly with a probation officer, usually once per month. A judge can also order that you complete drug treatment, perform community service, attend abuser treatment classes and undergo a mental health evaluation with a licensed practitioner.
Remember that many crimes can be tried as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the circumstances, first offense versus multiple offenses, injuries, etc.
Schlosser & Pritchard – Experienced Greensboro Misdemeanor Lawyers
A judge has a great deal of latitude in deciding what punishment will best fit your North Carolina misdemeanor. Schlosser & Pritchett, Greensboro’s misdemeanor and felony lawyers, are a dedicated team of seasoned litigators and negotiators who have tried hundreds of criminal cases. Our Greensboro lawyers understand the prosecution’s point of view, the state’s range of negotiable outcomes, and what types of arguments and evidence are likely to be effective.
Our Greensboro legal team is persuasive while representing our clients before judges, prosecutors, district attorneys, and juries. We understand the nuances of the North Carolina criminal justice system.
Call 336.292.4076 or use the convenient online form at the right of the page to submit your information, and we will contact you promptly